The Civil Wars – I’ve Got This Friend

Standard

This song is cute and makes me all happy inside.  The lyrics definitely help, but I think a huge reason as to why I also like the song is due to the fact that when I see the word “friend” in a song, I immediately think of “Best of Friends” from the movie Fox and the Hound.  My sister and I used to own the Disney Sing-a-long tapes and would sing this song quite often:

The Civil Wars is made up of singers Joy Williams and John Paul White.  I have been watching their album creep up the charts on iTunes (under the “Singer/Songwriter” genre, of course) for the past few weeks.  For some reason, I wasn’t too crazy about their stuff initially, but the more I listen to them, the more I enjoy what I am listening to.  During some parts of the Joy’s singing, she sounds like Celine Dion (which I think initially bothered me).  Other times, she sounds like Marketa Irglova.

Regardless, I’m such a sucker for romantic folk ballads.  I have also tried playing matchmaker in my days, and this song kind of sounds like a conversation I would have with Bret when trying to find “the perfect match” for our friends…

The Civil Wars – I’ve Got This Friend

Leave a Reply

