Beirut – East Harlem

Standard

East Harlem, Goshen, 2011

Oh boy!  This past week has been a week full of great new music! 🙂

Today, I ran across a new few new songs released from Beirut.  Bret and I used to include their song “Elephant Gun” on a bunch of our road trip playlists.  “Elephant Gun” always reminded us of people celebrating outside or an outdoor wedding (inspiration for down the road maybe?)

Zach Condon has a way of creating music that puts nothing but a smile on your face. And c’mon — that album cover?  How can you not smile at it?  Nutmeg makes that exact frownie face all the time.  I could only get a semi-frownie face for this picture (taken last summer):

The new album is expected to be released some time this summer.  Beirut will also be at both Bonnaroo and Lollapalooza this year.  Check and see if they will be making a stop in your city by looking at their tour dates here.

Listen to the new tracks “East Harlem,” “Goshen” and “O Leãozinho” below.  I cannot stop playing “Goshen.”  If I had a baby right now (NO! I’m not pregnant nor am I planning on having a baby ANY time soon), I would play this for him/her to go to sleep.  Maybe I’ll play it for my furchild Nutmeg to go to sleep to.  “East Harlem” is just… awesome – from start to finish.

Beirut – East Harlem

Beirut – Goshen

Beirut – O Leãozinho

Beirut – Elephant Gun

Leave a Reply

