Weird Al Yankovic – Alpocalypse

Standard

Alpocalypse

Ohhh boy.  Weird Al Yankovic just released a new album!

Now, traditionally, I probably wouldn’t write about an album like this on my blog.  However, this album definitely is an exception.

I was fortunate enough to have an older brother who showed me the way on several occasions.  Being a baby sister meant you wanted to do everything your brother did which in turn helped me become the person I am today:

  1. A tomboy (no pink + purples for me) and good at sports
  2. Not being completely grossed out by bugs (I really can’t stand spiders, though)
  3. Truly understanding what the line “May the force be with you” meant because you watched the entire saga repeatedly
  4. Dominating anyone who plays me at Dr. Mario (and being a good competitor for the original Halo during my freshmen year of college)
  5. Supporting Bret’s love for the Pittsburgh Pirates since my brother used to be a fan growing up
  6. Understanding that men do all of the following things: fart, burp, poop (and none of them are pretty)
  7. Learning the lyrics to different “boy” music such as Eminem, Dr. Dre, R.E.M., Crash Test Dummies, Nirvana, Smashing Pumpkins, Blink 182, Green Day, Weezer, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Michael Bolton (JUST KIDDING!), and most importantly, Weird Al Yankovic

Then the first CD I can remember Rich having was Off the Deep End, and the only song I remember is “Smells Like Nirvana.”  The album that I truly remember and can still sing lyrics to are from the Bad Hair Day album.  “Amish Paradise,” “Phony Calls,” “The Alternative Polka,” “Gump,” and “The Night Santa Went Crazy” were all my personal favorites.  I think Rich, Steph and I would listen to this album all the time.

Weird Al hasn’t released an album since 2006.  There have been so many great songs since ’06 that would have made great parodies, especially since Lady Gaga coming into existence in 2008.  Well, looks like Weird Al thought so, too.  His new album includes parodies of Lady Gaga, Taylor Swift, White Stripes, Weezer, Miley Cyrus, B.o.B, and T.I.  My favorite by far is “Perform This Way.”  I can’t stop watching the video (it’s so disturbing and true).  “Polka Face” is obviously another personal fave.

So, Rich, this post is for you.  Thanks for putting Weird Al into my life.

Leave a Reply

