Fruit Bats – Slipping Through The Sensors

Standard

I am so sore today.  I won my match singles match on Saturday afternoon.  Then, Bret and I had to play a mixed doubles match an hour later which ended up lasting almost 3 hours.    Even though we put up a good fight, we ended up losing.  I played my second singles match yesterday morning at 8 (… I can’t remember the last time I got up at 7:00 AM on a Sunday), and I ended up losing.  Even though Bret and I lost our matches, the tournament has motivated us to really practice and get back to being good at tennis.  However, this weekend reminded me that I will be 25 and am no longer 15-18 years old.

I’ve been listening to Fruit Bats since freshman year of college.  Sometimes their songs are hit or miss…  but I always end up finding a select few that I thoroughly enjoy.  Recently, I’ve been listening to “Slipping Through the Sensors.”  The entire song only has 30 words in its lyrics which I find impressive since it’s nearly a five minute long song.

Every time their name pops up on my shuffle playlist, I get a nice happy feeling inside.  I remember thinking that fruit bats were soooo adorable when I was a kid.  I mean, c’mon… How many of you wouldn’t want to own one of these cute little guys?

Plus, fruit bats remind me of Batty from the movie Ferngully.  I take serious pride in the fact that I can sing all the lyrics to this song:

Back to the REAL Fruit Bats… I’ve included some of my past favorite Fruit Bats songs along with “Slipping Through the Sensors”.  If you haven’t heard them before, check them out.

Fruit Bats – Slipping Through The Sensors

Fruit Bats – Primitive Man

Fruit Bats – When U Love Somebody

Fruit Bats – The Ruminant Band

Leave a Reply

