Weekend Playlist 7.29.11

Standard

Wow.  Heads up.. another semi long post is on its way!

So you all are probably wondering why the heck I didn’t post a Weekend Playlist last week.  I’m not going to pretend like my birthday post was supposed to be my Weekend Playlist post.  I was going to put together an epic birthday dance playlist, but… plans changed!

As you all know, last Thursday was my 25th birthday.  Bret took me out to dinner to a new restaurant in our neighborhood (which was awesome) and then we came back for present time.  I’m going to be completely honest here and say when I saw this present finished, I cried a little bit:

Bret refurbished this spice rack for my 23rd birthday.  However, the spice rack wasn’t completely done when he gave it to me and hasn’t been touched pretty much since that birthday.  Sometimes when we argue, I have a tendency to bring up… DUN DUN DUN!  … The spice rack.

Now, the whole thing is finished and is a beautiful jade green… and I am so so happy.  But Bret said that wasn’t my gift.

I opened my birthday card and read that I was supposed to pack my bags because we’re leaving in the AM!  This request (at around 8:30 PM) was followed by us hurrying around, gathering all of Nutmeg’s things to take her to Bret’s parents’ house for the week.

Leaving in the AM?  TO WHERE?

I’ve been talking about Lake Michigan non-stop for some time now.  However, I guess I haven’t talked about it for a few months, deciding that right now isn’t the time to take a “trip.”  Well, Bret (being the great guy that he is) made the executive decision that right now was the perfect time to take a trip.  So, we were on our way to Saugatuck, Michigan for the week.

Long story short, it was perfect.  Bret and I had so much fun.  We had an innkeeper named Marie who was simply wonderful.  The first night, we sat in her kitchen drinking wine while she made a little appetizer of cheddar cheese with white truffle oil and honey drizzled over it.  It tasted sooo good.  Bret and I then went to the beach to watch the sunset with some pizza on the beach.

We spent the next few days walking through Saugatuck, looking at all the boats (wishing we had one… haha), laying out on the beach, swimming in the water (that is SALT-free and SHARK-free!), making as many friends as we could while we were there, and just enjoying our time together.

My favorite day of the week was when we decided to go kayaking on Lake Kalamazoo.  The lake had a river that branched off from the lake where we could kayak for 14 miles.  Bret and I had so much fun.  It was nice just to be out in the wilderness, no people, no noise… and lots of turtles!  Our 3 hour trip ended up being 4 hours, but whatever.  It was so much fun.

It was a perfect birthday trip and really gave me the chance to put everything going on with my life right now into perspective.  Pretty much everyone we met and talked to said the same words over and over to us: “Do it.  Take the chance.” And to confirm things even more, I was looking through the Pittsburgh City Paper last night, and this was my horoscope:

I hope you all had a great week.  I sure did.

Leave a Reply

