Comfy and Cozy – Butternut Squash Bread

Standard

I love listening to music when I cook or bake.  Aside from listening to music while I work, it’s the time where I listen to music the most.  I feel most at ease when 1.) music is playing 2.) the stove/stovetop is on and 3.) a recipe is in front of me at the same time.

Gotye’s song “Somebody That I Used to Know” has been making it’s rounds for awhile now in the blogosphere.  It’s one of those songs I still haven’t downloaded, but everytime I get on Hypem and it comes up, I listen to the whole song, then I click on repeat.

Sorry, Gotye.  You’re great and all — but I just ran across Walk Off the Earth’s cover of your song, and immediately fell in love.  When I see videos like this, all I can think about is how much I want to be in that room watching that performance.  Everything from the first guy playing percussion on the guitar, the spot-on vocals from everyone (especially Sarah), to the last guy treating the guitar almost like a harp/sitar…  Awesome.  I can’t get enough of this video:

They also did a cover of The Pogues “Fairytale in New York” which I always include in every Christmas playlist…  Watch it here 🙂

I didn’t take a photo of the recipe below, but I’ll include the photo from where I got the recipe and can promise you that it is yummy!  First off, don’t judge me that I pulled the recipe from an online blog.  Right now, every single one of my cookbooks are boxed up, waiting to be removed in our NEW HOUSE!  Yes, Bret and I finally moved, and all of our things are no longer sitting in a storage shed.  They are currently sitting comfortably in our new home, waiting to be taken out of their boxes.  So like I said — don’t judge me for already breaking one of my New Year’s resolutions because I had no control over it.

Bret’s mom had given me two butternut squashes before I left during Christmas.  I absolutely love anything butternut squash, and it will be served somehow at our wedding.  There is something so velvety and sweet and comforting about the taste of it, and I didn’t want to make just your ol’ typical roasted butternut squash, and I’ve gone the soup route plenty of times.  We ran out of desserts now that the holiday season has passed, and Bret and I like to have something sweet at night.  So I thought…  Pumpkin is a squash and I can make muffins/bread/cookies out of that… I bet I can make bread out of butternut squash.

After a little searching, I found a recipe that I thought would be great.  And it was.

Courtesy of mybakingaddiction.com

Butternut Squash Bread

First, I had to puree the squash.  In the past, I’ve always roasted the squash and hate trying to scoop out all of the yummy squash goodness without completely burning my hands.  Instead, I peeled the whole squash, then cut it up into cubes.  I put it in a microwave-safe casserole dish covered with a lid, and microwaved it for 10 minutes.  SO EASY.  When I took the dish out, all I had to do was mash the squash with a fork and it was perfect, squash puree. Mmmmm…

To Make the Bread:

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butternut squash puree
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • 1 ¾ cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoons baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon kosher salt
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • ½ teaspoon ground cardamom (I didn’t have cardamom, so I used 1/4 tsp allspice and 1/4 tsp ground cloves)

* I added about a 1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips and about a 1/2 cup of chopped pecans as well… YUM!

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease and flour one 8.5 x 4.5 x 2.5 in loaf pan.
2. In a large bowl, mix together the butternut squash puree, eggs, oil, water and sugars until thoroughly combined. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg and cardamom.
3. Stir the dry ingredients into the butternut squash mixture.  Add any additional items here (chocolate, nuts, dried fruit, etc.) Combine just until incorporated; do not over mix. Pour into the prepared pan.
4. Bake at 350 degrees for 55-65 minutes (it’ll depend on your oven, so keep an eye on it) or until a wooden skewer inserted into the center of the loaf comes out clean.

Bret and I have been slicing it up and putting a little butter on it.  The taste of the butternut squash does not get lost at all.  Like I mentioned above, I added mini chocolate chips and chopped pecan halves which gave a little extra sweetness and crunch.  Bret said that the next time I make it, he would like me to add golden raisins.  YES!  BRET WANTS IT AGAIN!

Butternut Squash Bread = Success.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Osh, Kosh — Mmm More Squash «

Leave a Reply

