I Want a Musical Kitchen

Standard

These guys have too much time on their hands…

But aside from that, this video is pretty cool.

On Sunday morning, Bret and I made a nice heart breakfast of pancakes and bacon.  Now, since our fridge is still lacking almost every condiment possible (ketchup, salad dressing, jelly, etc.) but most importantly — maple syrup — we had to get a little creative since our pancakes didn’t have a topping.  Obviously, we could have gone to the grocery store to get some, but what’s the fun in that?

So, I improvised.  I’ve made a nice caramel butter sauce before, and Bret was more than ok with this substitute.

Caramel Butter Sauce 

(I halved the recipe, but here’s the original)

  • 4 tablespoons of butter
  • 1 cup of brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream (I used half and half…  Once again, got creative with what we had)
  • 1 tabel of vanilla extract

The sauce turned out great.  Very yummy and delicious on top of our pancakes (made on our new non-stick skillet!)  You might think that “non-stick skillet” shouldn’t deserve so much excitement, but I have been battling with my non-non-stick skillet for years now.  Bret’s parents were awesome in getting me an All-Clad non-stick skillet for Christmas.  It worked beautifully with the pancakes, and I am so happy to have it.  It was great to make pancakes without having to go into World War III with them from sticking to the pan…

Now, the bacon.  As another Christmas gift (this time from my brother and sister-in-law), we received a different gift.  On Christmas eve, my twin sister and I opened our gifts the same time.  Steph had a little bit of a head start, and I heard her say, “Wow!  6 months of vegetables!  That’s great!”

Being a twin, sometimes you assume you get the same thing.  Automatically, I just assumed we also got months of vegetables, and was like: “Yaaa-!”

Wrong.

We.

Got.

BACON!!!!!

 I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve rejected Bret from getting bacon at the grocery store.  It’s not that I hate bacon (who hates bacon???), but when you are trying to lose weight and are eating healthily, bacon does not get added to the grocery list.

Needless to say, we were very excited to get bacon as a gift!  For the next three months, we’ll get special shipments of b-a-c-o-n.  Actually, the day we were moving in, our first shipment of bacon was happily waiting for us on our doorstep.  We made some bacon this morning for our breakfast (this kind was applewood smoked), and it was gooooooood.

However, our place smelled like bacon for the rest of the day…

… or maybe that’s a good thing?

Leave a Reply

